Los Angeles Wage & Hour Violations Attorneys
Proudly Helping Workers Pursue Fair Compensation
Our lawyers at Southern California Labor Law Group PC take great pride in helping workers hold their employers accountable for all of the wages they are entitled to.
Our lawyers have helped clients of all backgrounds take legal action for wage and hour violations that affect their:
- Hourly wages
- Contract wages
- Overtime pay
- Sales commissions
- Stock options
If you believe you have been denied fair compensation, please reach out to our seasoned legal professionals so we can take a look at your case and explore all of your options under the law. Call (424) 306-1515 or contact us online now to connect with our wage & hour violations lawyers.
What Is Considered a Minimum Wage Violation?
The minimum wage in the state of California is $13 if the employer has 25 or fewer employees and $14 if the employer has 26 or more employees. Some cities and counties in California have also established minimum wage laws that require employers to pay employees more than what is required by the state.
If you work for an employer who refuses to pay you at least the state’s minimum wage, then you can file a lawsuit for wage theft to recover what you are owed. Contact our skilled legal team today to discuss your unpaid minimum wage case.
What are Some Common Wage and Hour Violations?
Wage and hour violations have steep penalties for breaking the law. The following is a list of how employers might perform violations:
- Not allowing employees to take a meal break
- Making employees work while they’re off the clock
- Not paying overtime wages
- Not reimbursing employees for work-related expenses
- Changing time sheets
- Not paying for employees off-site work or prep time to prepare for the job
What Is Unpaid Overtime?
Nonexempt employees in the state of California are entitled to overtime if they work more than 40 hours in a week or more than 8 hours in a day. Employees should be paid 1.5 times their regular rate of pay if they exceed 8 hours in a single day.
If an employee works more than 12 hours in a single day, then the employer is required to pay double their regular hourly wage. Consult with us if you are confused about overtime pay laws or if your employer has forced you to work unpaid overtime.
What Is a Meal & Rest Break Violation?
Nonexempt employees in California are entitled to periodic breaks throughout the workday, including a 30-minute meal break if they work more than 5 hours in a single day.
Nonexempt employees must also receive a 10-minute rest break for every 4 hours of work. It is illegal for employers to discourage employees from taking their designated meal or rest breaks. Employees must also be relieved of all their work duties during their breaks.
Helping You Recover the Wages You Deserve for Your Hard Work
Ask yourself the following:
- Does your boss always ask you to work extra hours but your wages don’t reflect any changes for overtime?
- Do you work for a company that forces you to continue performing your job duties during your lunch break?
If so, visit or call Southern California Labor Law Group PC so our Los Angeles wage and hour violation lawyer can help you navigate this area of the law and pursue all forms of compensation that you are entitled to for your trouble.
To schedule a free case consultation with an experienced Los Angeles wage and hour violations lawyer, please call our office at (424) 306-1515 today.